SAFARI BLUE

So yesterday I went on this ocean safari yes, going to look at dolphins and stuff. And guys I have to confess I fulfilled every stereotype of behaviour that we’ve seen on DPs. Because everyone shows up in bikinis and slippers, and Arit shows up in ankara pants, toting her tab. But at least the pants were blue. And I already knew I wouldn’t be snorkelling – I had no swimsuit plus I have refused to learn to swim properly. I had one plan – sit in the boat, take pictures, enjoy the breeze, look at the sea and just enjoy. And well, I carried it out. We went off on a long drive from the resort to the beach. It was interesting seeing Zanzibar. Didn’t take a lot of pictures though.

DSC00814DSC00813

Then after about half an hour, we turned unto this lane

DSC00815

A bit more driving and we arrived at the beach

Dhows in the distance

  Dhows in the distance

DSC00818

It was low tide and I had a sinking feeling when I realised we would have to walk all the way out to those boats. The beach was full of eager people waiting to head out and go. And then our guide for the day showed up

Zahidi

Zahidi

Pretty chilled out dude. He pointed out our boat and we headed out into the water. I have no pictures because I was too busy trying to avoid stepping on sea urchins and clutching the knapsack of the guy in front of me to keep from drowning. The water got to my waist.

DSC00820

This was the journey out to the boats for some of the other groups

Safely on the boat, we set off

DSC00822

Goodbye dry land

Goodbye dry land

Jan - the kind gentleman who let me clutch his knapsack on the journey in

Jan – the kind gentleman who let me clutch his knapsack on the journey in

We passed these guys on the way

We passed these guys on the way

Out in the open sea

Out in the open sea

We finally got to this place in the middle of the sea. Most people donned flippers and masks to go snorkelling, I arranged my feet under me and enjoyed the scenery

Sea vegetation

Sea vegetation

The fish are usually fed slivers of coconut, so once they see hands in the water, the swim right over

The fish are usually fed slivers of coconut, so once they see hands in the water, they swim right over

Then we got to drink some coconut water after the strenuous work of (in my case, doing nothing).

Then we got to drink some coconut water after the strenuous work of (in my case, doing nothing).

I was about to join all the other tourists to squeal about eating the soft coconut flesh till I remembered I’d eaten this stuff in my village before. So I respected myself and ate quietly

That is real coral...dead though.

That is real coral…dead though.

More coral, according to our guide, Zanzibar is made from coral

More coral, according to our guide, Zanzibar is made from coral

These people were on hand to sing for us as we arrived an island for lunch

These people were on hand to sing for us as we arrived an island for lunch

These guys sang so enthusiastically, and then they got into a rendition of Flavour’s Ash…song. I have it recorded. I tell you Flavour never hesperred this remix to his song. After lunch – seafood and island fruit, we got back into the boat and headed off to this haunting place surrounded by mangrove and coral

Mangrove river

Mangrove river

DSC00850DSC00851DSC00852

Some people wey no dey tire got out to swim, I, as was to be expected, chilled in the boat. Heading back in, we made our way back to shore by sail and guys, it was lovely. My inner Oron girl came to the fore and I couldn’t help enjoying the sway of the waves as it lifted our boat and carried it to its destination. Half an hour of eating pineapples, laughing and just feeling blessed. Sadly my battery had died by this time so no more pictures. Also evidence of my inner Oron girl, I didn’t need time to get my land legs back. I got off the boat and walked like I hadn’t been on water all day. Didn’t think it was weird until another lady who’d done the tour told me that it took her hours for her feet to settle.

Anyway, I’m off for another tour tomorrow. I’ll make sure my camera is fully charged. Ciao or like they say here, Ahsante sana

Leave a Reply

