DAY 24 – GRATITUDE JOURNAL

Ok, I know that this seems like it is becoming a habit, but honestly it wasn’t my fault. There’s a not-so-complicated story of me falling asleep and a cabbie who refused to answer my calls.

Anyway, let me ask a question. If the thing you’re dreaming of happens, do you have what it takes to take the chance? You know now…you dream of that job that will solve all your financial issues, that guy/girl who will treat you like you deserve to be treated, that move that will signal a new start. When you get the chance to take the step, will you jump into the unknown or will you cling to the comfort of the familiar? I thought it would be an easy answer, I was sure I knew what I would do…but it’s not that easy. More on that later.

Now I am attending the Heinrich Boell Conference on Resource Control and guys ehn…I am finding it hard to be grateful about attending. Nigeria is blessed and we are wasting it!!! I’m reading and hearing about solid minerals, land potential, gas reserves and much much more…and the question that has returned to my mind steadily is, “What are we doing with all this?” I don’t think it is a hopeless situation, and in the end, I am grateful for these uncomfortable truths. I need to look deeper, I need to ask more questions and learn more. This conference has sha opened my eyes, I am no longer in a position to pretend that I am asleep. I will also settle down and put these together in a series of posts very shortly.

Third, I am grateful for the extremely healthy peppered snails I had yesterday. Those things ehn…they had obviously been fed well before they were turned in pepper and put on a plate for me.

I am grateful for the people I have met in the last few days…I’m in a room with passionate and active minds and I know that we are not the only ones. I am grateful to have been able to learn from them and engage with them. We are a microcosm of the greater Nigeria, and if we can make these sparks create a huge fire, I’m sure that we can create change.

Ok, back to listening. I’ll blog later today, by God’s grace, no more late posting. 24 days of gratitude and God has indeed given me so much to be grateful for. And I know that there’s still more to be grateful for in the next few days.

Anyway, will go now. Ciao!

 

Leave a Reply

